Board of Directors

Co-op Money NZ’s board of directors is made up of directors from our Member credit unions.


 Richard Westlake: Chair

Richard, is the founder and Managing Director of Wellington-based Westlake Governance Limited, one of New Zealand’s leading corporate governance advisory firms. In his consulting business, he has worked extensively with Co-operatives and Mutuals over many years.

He has 25 years’ experience as a Director and Board Chairman and currently chairs Careerforce, the Industry Training Organisation supporting New Zealand’s health, disability, social services and aged care workforces.

Among his other roles, he adds some diversity, as the only non-Asian director, on the board of RCBC Bank, one of the largest banks in the Philippines, where he was appointed by the World Bank’s International Finance Corporation; and he is the first independent director of the Dairy Goat Co-Operative (NZ) Ltd, the world’s leading exporter of goat’s milk infant formula.

Among previous roles, he was a founding independent director of Kiwibank, for ten years, and South Island Chief Executive for Trust Bank Canterbury and WestpacTrust. His earlier chairmanships have included Intergen Limited, MetService, Quotable Value and Canterbury Opera.

Claire Matthews 150 x 124px 300dpi web
Claire Matthews: Director

Claire is a Director of NZCU Baywide, and also is Director Academic Programmes for the Massey Business School (Massey University). Claire has spent a number of years lecturing in the University’s post-graduate banking programmes, and from 2009 to 2013 she also had overall responsibility for the Personal Financial Planning endorsement within the Graduate Diploma of Business Studies.

Prior to joining Massey Claire was employed by Trust Bank in a variety of roles. Claire has a PhD in Banking on the subject of Switching Costs in the New Zealand Banking Market, and is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Alan Connolly: Director

Alan is the Chairman and Director of NZCU Central. Alan gained his Bachelor Degree on Management Studies, Account and Finance, from the University of Waikato and he is also a Chartered Accountant.

He is an experienced CFO, business development manager and company Director and has worked in the forestry, kiwifruit, paper and meat industries.

Louise Edwards: Director and Chair of Audit and Risk Committee

Louise is a Chartered Accountant and Chief Executive of the Rātā Foundation. She has over 20 years senior management experience across a number of industries in NZ and overseas. In particular, Louise has held senior executive positions within the NZ financial services industry and is an experienced leader with a wealth of financial management acumen. Previous roles include Chief Executive of Perpetual Trust, Chief Operating Officer for Assure NZ (subsidiary of AXA) and Senior Development Manager at Jacques Martin.

She holds several board appointments including as a director of the Christchurch NZ Holdings Ltd where she also chairs the Audit and Risk Committee. She has a strong interest in governance, being actively involved in the Canterbury branch of Institute of Directors.

Steve Wakefield Director

Steve is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and has recently retired from a 36 year career with the global accounting and consulting services firm of Deloitte.  Steve is currently on the Board of the Court Theatre, the Church Property Trustees, the East Lake Trust, CropLogic Limited, and the NZ Health Innovation Hub.

Steve has also recently been appointed to the Governing Council of the University of Canterbury.  With a computer science degree and accounting systems background, Steve brings considerable IT expertise to the Board, with extensive experience in IT strategy, systems implementation, project management, cyber security and other areas of relevance.

Graham Clouston: Director

Graham is a Director of Credit Union Baywide. He is the Executive Director of Smoogro Asset Management which manages the financial assets of family entities. Graham holds a Diploma in Technical Analysis, is a Member of the Institute of Directors, and is also a Director of angel investor, Launch Taranaki Ltd.

Graham, with 43 years involvement in the Movement, has a strong commitment to the Credit Union people helping people cooperative model. He supports absolutely the growth and development of Credit Unions in New Zealand for the benefit of everyone.

Craig Gold: Deputy Chair

Craig Gold has been involved with credit unions and the movement since 1995, and is currently the Chair of the New Zealand Firefighters Credit Union Board. A Wellington-based career firefighter for 25 years, Craig has been involved with management, leadership training, mentoring and developing others to ensure efficient operational command of large groups and incidents.

He is a graduate of the Institute of Fire Engineers, and a member of the NZ Fire Brigades Institute.

Craig was also the founder and owner of CAC Electrical Tag Testing, a business which progressed from a small sole trader to a national franchise.

A true advocate of modern leadership practices, Craig has a passion for everything that he becomes involved with. He holds qualifications in business, front line management and executive management, gained from various tertiary educational institutions.